“Sakada Soldier (musician)” meets his first grandchild

Our First Grandchild

Our First Grandchild

Sakada Soldier Pedro Rumbaoa and his wife, Feliza, play with their first grandchild Ferdinand R. Pena in their home, in January 1951.

The “Sakada Soldiers” were unique: one, they did not work in the sugar or pineapple fields of Hawaii; two, they were recruited directly by the US Army in the Philippines, and later sent to Hawaii as; three, musicians, cooks, porters or maintenance personnel. Stationed at Schofield Barracks in Wahiawa, these 100 families or so, bore surnames such as Jacang, Aguda, Udasco, Odasco, Villanueva, Soriano, Bejasa, Rumbaoa, Ducosin, and Josue. Small world; many of their descendants have ancestors who were once neighbors to each other.

~ by popscan on 12 December 2008.

One Response to ““Sakada Soldier (musician)” meets his first grandchild”

  1. I {don’t|do not} even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was {good|great}. I {don’t|do not} know who you are but {definitely|certainly} {you are|you’re} going to a famous blogger if you {are not|aren’t} already 😉 Cheers!…

    Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I find It really useful & it helped me out much. I hope to give something back and aid others like you aided me….

Leave a comment